Psalm 25 Acrostic

1              Ah, Lord, to you I lift up my soul;

2              Because I trust in you, my God,

.                     do not let me be put to shame,

.                           nor let my enemies triumph over me.

3              Could anyone whose hope is in you

.                      ever be put to shame? No!

.                         But those who are treacherous without excuse

.                                 will be put to shame.

4              Direct me in your ways, O Lord,

.                     teach me your paths;

5              Educate me in your truth and instruct me,

.                     for you are God my Savior,

.                           and my hope is in you all day long.

6              Forget not your great mercy and love, O Lord,

.                     for they are from of old.

7              Graciously forgive the sins of my youth

.                      and my rebellious ways;

.                            according to your love remember me,

.                               for you are good, O Lord.

8              Holy, upright and good is the Lord;

.                     therefore he guides sinners into his ways,

9              Instructing the humble in what is right

.                     and teaching them his way.

10           Just, faithful and loving are all the ways of the Lord

.                     for those who keep the demands of his covenant.

11           Kindly forgive my iniquity, though it is great,

.                     for the sake of your name, O Lord.

12           Look to find the man who fears the Lord:

.                 him will the Lord instruct in the way chosen for him.

13           Many days will he spend in prosperity,

.                     and his descendents will inherit the land.

14           Now making his covenant known to them,

.                     the Lord confides in those who fear him.

15           Only the Lord will release my feet from the snare;

.                     therefore my eyes are ever on him.

16           Prove yourself gracious to me and turn to me,

.                     for I am lonely and afflicted.

17           Quickly free me from my anguish,

.                     for the troubles of my heart have multiplied.

18           Regard my affliction and my distress

.                     and take away all my sins.

19           See how my enemies have increased

.                     and see how fiercely they hate me!

20           Take my life and guard it;

.                     rescue me, and let me now be put to shame,

.                          for I take refuge in you.

21           Uprightness and integrity—let them always protect me,

.                     because my hope is in you.

22           Vindicate Israel, O God;

.                     redeem them from all their troubles!

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

