Sonnet from Romans 7:15-25

I do not  understand the things I do:

.     I find I do not do the things I want,

.     And what I want to do I find I can’t.

There’s only one conclusion I come to:

By doing what I do not want, I say

.     God’s law is good, and sin’s at work in me

.     To do those things, so I cannot be free;

My sinful nature always runs astray.

 

Though in my inner self I love God’s law,

.     Another law I see at work inside,

.           Waging war and making me a slave.

O wretched man! What place is there to draw

.     The strength to win a vict’ry? None beside

.          Christ Jesus—God be thanked! Yes, He can save!

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

