Psalm 42-43 (Pseudosonnet Triplet)

.

As deer are thirsting for the living streams

.     I thirst for you, my God, my living God.

When can I come and meet with you? It seems

.     All day and night my tears my only food,

While all day long I’m taunted with the snide

.     “Where IS your God?” and my mind strays,

To memories, throngs in joyous thankful stride

.     Parading strong on celebration days.

.

.          Why so downcast, O my soul?

.               Why disturbed inside this shell?

.              Hope in God, for time will tell

.         How I shall his praise extol,

.                         My Savior and my God!

.

And yet my soul is downcast still, and then

.     I call to mind provisions you had made

When I was at wit’s end, when chaos meant

.     To swallow me, came crashing in my head.

“So why have you forgotten me, my God?”

.     My bones feel crushed, my spirit so despairs

I scarce can breathe, and yet I look for good

.     And sing at night to wipe away the cares.

.

.         Why so downcast, O my soul?

.               Why disturbed inside this shell?

.               Hope in God, for time will tell

.          How I shall his praise extol,

.                         My Savior and my God!

.

I call for vindication, God, and plead

.     My case before your court, and hear your Word

Declaring me a righteous man, and freed

.     From all their claims, my hope no more deferred.

And then I will go gladly to your house,

.     And sacrifice with joyful heart, and sing,

And gladly pay thanksgiving’s sweetest vows

.     On instruments of wind and wood and string.

.

.          Why so downcast, O my soul?

.               Why disturbed inside this shell?

.               Hope in God, for time will tell

.          How I shall his praise extol,

.                         My Savior and my God!

Leave a Reply

